Deception

 A prologue from a STILL pending novel of mine…seemed like a vague short story. *shrugs*

(Last modified: July 22, 2013) Yikes.


 

         I finally broke away from my binds and the song outside is killing me as it reverberates my insides. Dashing through the house’s halls, to the living room and out the front door, I have never felt so free.

Air, sweet sea air. The orchestras of angelic voices summon me. I walk in a trance-like pattern through the neighborhood, away from the street lamps, away from civilization. There is nothing but me and the song. The beach gets closer and I can smell the salt, it takes almost everything in me not to bolt straight into the water.

         The song speaks, telling me a story. My hunger grumbles for their stories, it’s driving me mad.

         A glimmer of gold shoots up from the water but it quickly disappears. They’re here for me. I dip my feet into the ice cold sea and wade there. The water stings me, sending rushes of adrenaline that course through my body. I take in a deep breath and sing my tale to them.

         Cool breaths, sweet hisses.
Black Water,
New moon.

         I push myself forward until the water is above my waist. I keep singing, they accompany me with second voices accentuating my melody.
Beautiful.

         It was like a concerto and I was the lead instrument. Splashes of black surround me as they sing to me, as they sing with me.

         “Sister,” one hisses and then I see it.

         Majestic.  

         I can’t feel my toes anymore and my legs are giving out on me.
        This is what I want, a voice in my head says for me. Before I could even counter the thought…

         They dragged me down.

Leave a Reply

